You can also check out Outcomes from the conference!


Northwest Model United Nations believes that participation in Model United Nations is rewarding because of the skills and knowledge acquired through participation, and the personal growth and leadership development that occurs both during conferences and in preparations for conferences. No participant needs external recognition to achieve these gains. NWMUN does offer awards for delegates that help advance their country's policy farthest, and for delegations with consistently strong delegates across committees and countries assigned to them. However, we believe that awards should be viewed with appropriate perspective, understanding that they are of limited value in recognizing achievement or excellence, both for those who may be given awards and those who may not.

If there is any incorrect or incomplete information on this page, please let us know by emailing sg.portland [at]

Delegation (Overall) Awards

Outstanding Delegation: University of Texas at Dallas (Head Delegate: Maddox Robinson; Faculty Adviser: Katy Jordan)

Distinguished Delegation: Western Washington University (Head Delegates: Jordan King and Zerach Coakley)

General Assembly Plenary

Outstanding Delegate: Japan, Represented by Evan Sun (University of Texas, Dallas)

Distinguished Delegate: Jordan, Represented by Alexander Vasquez (Willamette University)

Distinguished Delegate: Ireland, Represented by Soleil de Zwart (Western Washington University)

Distinguished Delegate: Qatar, Represented by Kayla Bentley (CSU - Channel Islands)

Distinguished Delegate: Antigua & Barbuda, Represented by Emma Rusin (Seattle University)

Position Paper Award: Cambodia, Represented by Safiyah Zaidi (University of Texas at Dallas)

Position Paper Award: Qatar, Represented by Kayla Bentley (CSU - Channel Islands)

Position Paper Award: Afghanistan, Represented by Azelle Bahadory (Highline College)

Human Rights Council - Universal Periodic Review

Outstanding Delegate: Cuba, Represented by Smriti Natarajan (University of Texas, Dallas)

Distinguished Delegate: Bhutan, Represented by Jordan King (Western Washington University)

Distinguished Delegate: Slovakia, Represented by Grace McDonnell (University of Portland)

Position Paper Award: Bhutan, Represented by Jordan King (Western Washington University)

Position Paper Award: Eritrea, Represented by Annika Russell (University of Texas at Dallas

United Nations Development Programme

Outstanding Delegate: Cambodia, Represented by Julia LaFond (University of Texas, Dallas)

Distinguished Delegate: Cuba, Represented by Barbara Di Castro (University of Texas, Dallas)

Distinguished Delegate: Egypt, Represented by Rebecca Krempasky (Gonzaga University)

Position Paper Award: China, Represented by Ashley Tang (University of Washington)

Position Paper Award: Mexico, Represented by Nona Palmer (CSU - Channel Islands)

Security Council

Outstanding Delegate: Kuwait, Represented by Lanie Smith (Clark College)

Distinguished Delegate: France, Represented by Maddox Robinson (University of Texas, Dallas)

Position Paper Award: United States, Represented by Allie Schiele (Seattle University)